Photography Classes Near You in USA

by

Photography Education Directory: The 10 Most Populous U.S. Cities

Research status: This directory was built on September 14, 2026. It prioritizes official institutional, school, nonprofit, and business websites. Because photography-course schedules and prices change frequently, every item marked “Not disclosed” or “To be confirmed” should be checked directly before enrollment.


New York, NY

New York offers the strongest concentration in this directory of photography education, ranging from undergraduate and graduate art programs to specialist documentary, darkroom, commercial, and street-photography instruction.

A. Degree / Certificate Programs

School of Visual Arts — BFA Photography and Video

  • Type: Bachelor of Fine Arts.
  • Target audience and level: Undergraduate students preparing for careers in fine-art, editorial, commercial, fashion, documentary, and related photographic practices.
  • Content / curriculum: Photography and video, studio practice, image-making, critical studies, professional development, contemporary photographic practice, and portfolio development. The department also supports public exhibitions, lectures, and interaction with working artists.
  • Duration: Normally four years.
  • Schedule / calendar: Full-time daytime undergraduate program; current academic calendar and course timetable should be confirmed with SVA.
  • Price / cost: Current tuition and fees were not confirmed on the photography-program page. Financial aid and scholarships are available subject to SVA rules.
  • Prerequisites: Undergraduate admission; portfolio and other application materials may be required.
  • Physical address: Photography and Video facilities are in New York City; the cited SVA photography event page lists 214 East 21st Street, New York, NY 10010.
  • Direct URL: SVA Photography and Video
  • Accessed: September 14, 2026.

School of Visual Arts — MFA Photography, Video, and Related Media

  • Type: Master of Fine Arts.
  • Target audience and level: Advanced students and practicing artists developing an independent photographic or moving-image practice.
  • Content / curriculum: Studio production, photography, video, related media, critique, theory, research, professional practice, and development of a substantial body of work.
  • Duration: Normally two years; confirm the current program structure.
  • Schedule / calendar: Full-time graduate program; current timetable not confirmed.
  • Price / cost: Not disclosed on the retrieved program page; consult SVA graduate tuition and financial-aid pages.
  • Prerequisites: Bachelor’s degree or equivalent and portfolio/application materials.
  • Physical address: 214 East 21st Street, 1st floor, New York, NY 10010.
  • Direct URL: SVA MFA Photography, Video, and Related Media
  • Accessed: September 14, 2026.

International Center of Photography — One-Year Certificate Programs

  • Type: One-year professional certificate; onsite and online tracks.
  • Target audience and level: Serious beginners, emerging photographers, career-changers, visual storytellers, and advanced practitioners.
  • Content / curriculum: ICP lists onsite Creative Practices and Documentary Practice & Visual Journalism programs, plus online Documentary Practice: Visual Storytelling, Curatorial Practice in Photography, and Writing and the Photographic Image. Topics include technical mastery, photographic voice, documentary methods, visual storytelling, writing, curating, darkroom practice, digital production, and critique.
  • Duration: Approximately August–June for onsite one-year programs. ICP describes the program period as August to June, with approximately 30 course hours listed for the program information page.
  • Schedule / calendar: Fall 2026 onsite programs begin in mid-August 2026; online programs have separate annual admissions cycles. Current enrollment status must be confirmed.
  • Price / cost: Tuition varies by certificate and delivery mode; current amounts were not reliably displayed in the retrieved page. Scholarships may be available.
  • Prerequisites: Application and portfolio or work samples may be required, depending on the certificate.
  • Physical address: ICP, 79 Essex Street, New York, NY 10002.
  • Direct URL: The School at ICP
  • Accessed: September 14, 2026.
  • Verification note: ICP’s official site confirms onsite and online certificates, open education, facilities, darkrooms, and media labs. icp

New York Institute of Photography

  • Type: Online professional photography courses and certificates.
  • Target audience and level: Beginners through aspiring professionals; suitable for students requiring flexible, asynchronous study.
  • Content / curriculum: General professional photography, portrait photography, wedding photography, photojournalism, camera technique, composition, lighting, assignments, and portfolio-oriented work.
  • Duration: Self-paced; exact duration varies by course.
  • Schedule / calendar: Online and generally flexible.
  • Price / cost: Current prices should be confirmed directly; the retrieved source was not the institution’s own website and did not establish current tuition reliably.
  • Prerequisites: Usually none for introductory courses; confirm for specialist tracks.
  • Physical address: Administrative location and current correspondence address should be confirmed with NYIP.
  • Direct URL: New York Institute of Photography
  • Accessed: September 14, 2026.
  • Verification note: The school’s offerings were identified in search results, but current pricing and individual course pages require direct confirmation.

B. Public Workshops and Short Courses

ICP Open Education

  • Type: Short courses, workshops, seminars, and online classes.
  • Target audience and level: Beginner, intermediate, and advanced photographers; also suitable for participants interested in visual culture and photographic theory.
  • Content / curriculum: Camera fundamentals, digital photography, lighting, portraiture, documentary practice, visual storytelling, editing, writing, alternative processes, darkroom techniques, and critical practice.
  • Duration: Varies from single workshops to multi-session courses.
  • Schedule / calendar: In-person at ICP in New York and online; current dates vary by term.
  • Price / cost: Course-specific; current prices must be checked in the ICP course catalogue.
  • Prerequisites: Course-specific; many introductory classes have no prerequisites.
  • Physical address: 79 Essex Street, New York, NY 10002.
  • Direct URL: ICP Open Education
  • Accessed: September 14, 2026.
  • Verification note: ICP explicitly describes open education as a selection of in-person and online courses, workshops, and seminars. icp

Penumbra Foundation

  • Type: Short workshops and specialist courses.
  • Target audience and level: Beginners through advanced photographers, artists, educators, and practitioners interested in historical and alternative photographic processes.
  • Content / curriculum: Darkroom work, tintype, cyanotype, wet-plate collodion, alternative processes, historic photographic techniques, studio work, and contemporary applications.
  • Duration: Single-day, weekend, and multi-session formats.
  • Schedule / calendar: Variable public calendar; current dates and availability must be confirmed.
  • Price / cost: Course-specific; not reliably confirmed in the retrieved material.
  • Prerequisites: Usually none for introductory workshops; some technical workshops may recommend previous experience.
  • Physical address: New York City; current studio address should be confirmed on the official registration page.
  • Direct URL: Penumbra Foundation Workshops
  • Accessed: September 14, 2026.

PhotoManhattan

  • Type: Private photography school offering workshops and short courses.
  • Target audience and level: Beginners, intermediate photographers, and participants seeking practical urban photography training.
  • Content / curriculum: Camera controls, exposure, composition, street photography, travel and cityscape photography, outdoor shooting, and guided field practice.
  • Duration: Single seminars and multi-session workshops. A recent listed example consisted of three Saturday sessions of approximately 2.5 hours each.
  • Schedule / calendar: Mainly in-person outdoor sessions in Manhattan, including Union Square, Chelsea, and the High Line; current dates vary.
  • Price / cost: A recently listed three-session street/travel/cityscape workshop was priced at $375; current prices should be confirmed.
  • Prerequisites: Usually none; participants should bring a camera and charged battery.
  • Physical address: Classes meet at changing outdoor locations in Manhattan.
  • Direct URL: PhotoManhattan Photography Classes
  • Accessed: September 14, 2026.
  • Verification note: Search results identified current outdoor seminars and a three-session workshop with a published price. meetup

Tony Northrup Photography Workshops

  • Type: Short practical workshops.
  • Target audience and level: All levels, from beginners to advanced photographers.
  • Content / curriculum: Outdoor portraiture, posing, natural light, flash, camera settings, studio lighting, wildlife, and portfolio-building.
  • Duration: Usually approximately three hours; some studio programs use multiple sessions.
  • Schedule / calendar: Weekend workshops in Manhattan and nearby studio locations; current calendar varies.
  • Price / cost: Not consistently disclosed in the retrieved results.
  • Prerequisites: None stated; camera familiarity may be useful for advanced sessions.
  • Physical address: Changing locations, including Central Park and Manhattan studios.
  • Direct URL: Tony Northrup Workshops
  • Accessed: September 14, 2026.
  • Verification note: The official workshop page lists Central Park wildlife, outdoor portrait, and studio-lighting workshops. northrupphotography

Los Angeles, CA

Los Angeles combines major art-school degree programs with commercial, fashion, studio-lighting, and digital-postproduction instruction. Pasadena, although a separate municipality, is included because it forms part of the Los Angeles metropolitan educational ecosystem.

A. Degree / Certificate Programs

ArtCenter College of Design — Photography and Imaging

  • Type: Undergraduate and graduate photography-related study; verify the current credential title and availability.
  • Target audience and level: Students preparing for professional, editorial, commercial, fine-art, and image-making careers.
  • Content / curriculum: Photography, image production, visual communication, studio work, lighting, digital imaging, critical studies, portfolio development, and professional practice.
  • Duration: Undergraduate programs are normally four years; graduate duration varies.
  • Schedule / calendar: Full-time academic study; current calendar and delivery format should be confirmed.
  • Price / cost: Current tuition and program fees were not confirmed in the retrieved evidence.
  • Prerequisites: Application and portfolio.
  • Physical address: 1700 Lida Street, Pasadena, CA 91103.
  • Direct URL: ArtCenter Photography and Imaging
  • Accessed: September 14, 2026.

Otis College of Art and Design — Photography

  • Type: Undergraduate photography study within an art-and-design degree structure.
  • Target audience and level: Undergraduate students seeking a professional art, design, or visual-communication education.
  • Content / curriculum: Photography, studio practice, digital image-making, visual culture, design, conceptual development, and portfolio work.
  • Duration: Normally four years for a bachelor’s degree.
  • Schedule / calendar: Full-time daytime study; current details should be confirmed.
  • Price / cost: Not disclosed in the retrieved evidence; consult current undergraduate tuition.
  • Prerequisites: Undergraduate application and portfolio.
  • Physical address: 9045 Lincoln Boulevard, Los Angeles, CA 90045.
  • Direct URL: Otis Photography
  • Accessed: September 14, 2026.

California Institute of the Arts — Photography and Media

  • Type: Undergraduate and graduate art education involving photography and media.
  • Target audience and level: Emerging artists and advanced practitioners.
  • Content / curriculum: Photography, moving image, experimental media, conceptual practice, critique, theory, installation, and interdisciplinary production.
  • Duration: Usually four years for undergraduate study; graduate duration varies.
  • Schedule / calendar: Full-time academic program.
  • Price / cost: Current tuition not confirmed.
  • Prerequisites: Portfolio and academic application.
  • Physical address: 24700 McBean Parkway, Valencia, CA 91355.
  • Direct URL: CalArts Photography and Media
  • Accessed: September 14, 2026.

B. Public Workshops and Short Courses

Samy’s Camera — Samy’s Photo School

  • Type: Camera-store workshops, classes, seminars, and hands-on courses.
  • Target audience and level: Beginners through professionals.
  • Content / curriculum: Camera fundamentals, manual exposure, digital photography, portraiture, studio lighting, Photoshop, Lightroom, Capture One, AI-assisted editing, commercial photography, and specialty techniques.
  • Duration: Single sessions, short courses, and multi-session classes.
  • Schedule / calendar: In-person classes in Los Angeles and selected online offerings; dates vary.
  • Price / cost: Course-specific; current prices must be checked on the registration page.
  • Prerequisites: Usually none for introductory courses; equipment requirements vary.
  • Physical address: Samy’s Camera, 431 S. Fairfax Avenue, Los Angeles, CA 90036.
  • Direct URL: Samy’s Camera Photo School
  • Accessed: September 14, 2026.
  • Verification note: Current search material identified Samy’s classes in beginner digital photography, lighting, portraiture, Capture One, and Photoshop.

Los Angeles Center of Photography

  • Type: Nonprofit photography workshops, classes, talks, and events.
  • Target audience and level: Beginner, intermediate, advanced, and professional photographers.
  • Content / curriculum: Contemporary photography, documentary practice, street photography, editing, visual storytelling, portfolio development, artist talks, and professional practice.
  • Duration: Single lectures, short workshops, and multi-week courses.
  • Schedule / calendar: In-person and online formats may be available; current schedule varies.
  • Price / cost: Course-specific; not confirmed in the retrieved evidence.
  • Prerequisites: Course-specific; many public workshops are open to all.
  • Physical address: Los Angeles; current teaching location should be confirmed on the course page.
  • Direct URL: Los Angeles Center of Photography
  • Accessed: September 14, 2026.

Los Angeles Community College District — Photography Courses

  • Type: Community-college credit courses and possible certificate pathways.
  • Target audience and level: Beginners, degree-seeking students, career-changers, and continuing-education learners.
  • Content / curriculum: Introductory photography, digital imaging, lighting, studio practice, darkroom or film processes where offered, image editing, and photographic history.
  • Duration: Usually semester-based; course availability differs by campus.
  • Schedule / calendar: Day, evening, online, and hybrid options may be offered.
  • Price / cost: California community-college tuition is generally charged per unit, with residency classification affecting cost; current photography-course prices were not confirmed.
  • Prerequisites: Introductory courses generally have none; advanced courses may require prior coursework.
  • Physical address: Multiple LACCD campuses.
  • Direct URL: LACCD Class Search
  • Accessed: September 14, 2026.
  • Verification note: A specific active photography certificate and current schedule should be confirmed through the district’s term catalogue before inclusion in an enrollment plan.

Chicago, IL

Chicago has a particularly strong academic photography ecosystem, led by Columbia College Chicago and the School of the Art Institute of Chicago, with additional community-college and nonprofit options.

A. Degree / Certificate Programs

Columbia College Chicago — BFA Photography

  • Type: Bachelor of Fine Arts.
  • Target audience and level: Undergraduate students pursuing professional careers in commercial, fashion, fine-art, editorial, or creative photography.
  • Content / curriculum: Technical skill, creative exploration, photographic history and theory, commercial photography, fashion photography, fine-art practice, studio production, digital imaging, darkroom work, equipment operation, and experiential projects.
  • Duration: Normally four years.
  • Schedule / calendar: Full-time undergraduate program.
  • Price / cost: Current tuition and fees were not confirmed in the retrieved program catalogue.
  • Prerequisites: Undergraduate admission; portfolio requirements should be confirmed.
  • Physical address: 600 South Michigan Avenue, Chicago, IL 60605.
  • Direct URL: Columbia College Chicago BFA Photography
  • Accessed: September 14, 2026.
  • Verification note: The official catalogue describes commercial, fashion, and fine-art specializations and access to studios and darkrooms. catalog.colum

Columbia College Chicago — BA Photography

  • Type: Bachelor of Arts.
  • Target audience and level: Undergraduate students seeking photography within a broader liberal-arts and visual-arts framework.
  • Content / curriculum: Photography practice, visual communication, history and theory, digital imaging, critical thinking, and elective specialization.
  • Duration: Normally four years.
  • Schedule / calendar: Full-time academic program.
  • Price / cost: Not confirmed in the retrieved evidence.
  • Prerequisites: Undergraduate admission.
  • Physical address: 600 South Michigan Avenue, Chicago, IL 60605.
  • Direct URL: Columbia College Photography Programs
  • Accessed: September 14, 2026.
  • Verification note: The official catalogue lists Photography BA, Photography MFA, and Photography Minor programs. catalog.colum

Columbia College Chicago — MFA Photography

  • Type: Master of Fine Arts.
  • Target audience and level: Advanced photographers and artists developing a sustained, research-based practice.
  • Content / curriculum: Aesthetic and conceptual development, advanced photographic technique, art history, theory, criticism, graduate seminars, critique, visual storytelling, image and text, portraiture, documentary books, hybrid practice, and professional practice.
  • Duration: Two years and 60 credits.
  • Schedule / calendar: Full-time graduate program.
  • Price / cost: Current graduate tuition not confirmed.
  • Prerequisites: Bachelor’s degree and portfolio/application materials.
  • Physical address: 600 South Michigan Avenue, Chicago, IL 60605.
  • Direct URL: Columbia College Chicago MFA Photography
  • Accessed: September 14, 2026.
  • Verification note: The official catalogue identifies a two-year, 60-credit program. catalog.colum

School of the Art Institute of Chicago — Photography

  • Type: Undergraduate and graduate photography study, including BFA and MFA pathways.
  • Target audience and level: Emerging artists, advanced students, and professional artists.
  • Content / curriculum: Photography as contemporary art, studio practice, critique, theory, history, experimental processes, digital production, interdisciplinary work, and independent artistic research.
  • Duration: Normally four years for BFA and approximately two to three years for graduate study, depending on the degree.
  • Schedule / calendar: Full-time academic study.
  • Price / cost: Current tuition not confirmed in the retrieved material.
  • Prerequisites: Portfolio and academic application; SAIC states that applicants submit 10–15 recent works for portfolio review.
  • Physical address: 36 South Wabash Avenue, Chicago, IL 60603.
  • Direct URL: SAIC Photography
  • Accessed: September 14, 2026.
  • Verification note: SAIC’s application materials emphasize transcripts, an artist statement, recommendations, and a portfolio. saic

B. Public Workshops and Short Courses

School of the Art Institute of Chicago — Continuing Studies

  • Type: Non-degree adult courses, workshops, and continuing education.
  • Target audience and level: Adults, beginners, intermediate learners, artists, and professionals.
  • Content / curriculum: Digital photography, analog photography, studio practice, lighting, image editing, photographic history, and interdisciplinary art-making.
  • Duration: Single workshops and multi-week courses.
  • Schedule / calendar: Day, evening, weekend, online, and in-person formats vary by course.
  • Price / cost: Course-specific and not confirmed in the retrieved evidence.
  • Prerequisites: Course-specific.
  • Physical address: SAIC campus locations in downtown Chicago.
  • Direct URL: SAIC Continuing Studies
  • Accessed: September 14, 2026.

Chicago Photography Center

  • Type: Nonprofit photography classes, workshops, critiques, and field sessions.
  • Target audience and level: Beginner through advanced photographers.
  • Content / curriculum: Camera operation, digital photography, street photography, portraiture, documentary practice, composition, editing, Lightroom, darkroom work, and portfolio review.
  • Duration: Single workshops and multi-week courses.
  • Schedule / calendar: Regular public programming; current times and formats vary.
  • Price / cost: Course-specific; confirm during registration.
  • Prerequisites: Usually none for introductory courses.
  • Physical address: Chicago, Illinois; current classroom address should be confirmed on the official course page.
  • Direct URL: Chicago Photography Center
  • Accessed: September 14, 2026.

Harold Washington College — Photography Courses

  • Type: Community-college credit courses.
  • Target audience and level: Beginners, degree-seeking students, and adult learners.
  • Content / curriculum: Introductory photography, digital imaging, lighting, composition, studio practice, editing, and photographic history.
  • Duration: Semester-based courses.
  • Schedule / calendar: Course-specific day, evening, and online sections.
  • Price / cost: City Colleges of Chicago tuition is charged per credit hour, with residency affecting cost; current photography-course tuition was not confirmed.
  • Prerequisites: Introductory courses generally have none.
  • Physical address: 30 East Lake Street, Chicago, IL 60601.
  • Direct URL: Harold Washington College
  • Accessed: September 14, 2026.
  • Verification note: Confirm the current term schedule and whether a photography credential is active before enrolling.

Houston, TX

Houston is notable for university-level photography and video education, the FotoFest ecosystem, and community-based opportunities connected to museums and nonprofit organizations.

A. Degree / Certificate Programs

University of Houston — BFA Photography and Video

  • Type: Bachelor of Fine Arts.
  • Target audience and level: Undergraduate students developing contemporary photographic and moving-image practices.
  • Content / curriculum: Analog and digital photography, black-and-white and color darkrooms, large-format photography, studio practice, lighting, experimental video, digital imaging, art history, theory, critique, internships, and thesis exhibition.
  • Duration: Normally four years.
  • Schedule / calendar: Full-time studio program.
  • Price / cost: Current tuition and fees were not confirmed on the retrieved program page.
  • Prerequisites: Undergraduate admission; competitive portfolio review for the advanced BLOCK program.
  • Physical address: University of Houston, 4800 Calhoun Road, Houston, TX 77204.
  • Direct URL: University of Houston Photography and Video
  • Accessed: September 14, 2026.
  • Verification note: The official page describes darkrooms, large-format and studio practice, digital imaging, internships, visiting artists, and a senior thesis exhibition. uh

University of Houston — MFA Photography and Video

  • Type: Master of Fine Arts.
  • Target audience and level: Advanced artists and photographers pursuing intensive studio research.
  • Content / curriculum: Photography, video, expanded lens-based practices, critique, seminars, individual mentorship, wet labs, black-and-white enlarger suites, medium- and large-format cameras, professional exhibitions, and thesis work.
  • Duration: Three years.
  • Schedule / calendar: Full-time studio-intensive graduate program.
  • Price / cost: The program page states that it is fully funded when students accept a graduate assistantship position; exact funding terms should be confirmed.
  • Prerequisites: Graduate application and portfolio.
  • Physical address: University of Houston, 4800 Calhoun Road, Houston, TX 77204; graduate studio facilities are associated with Elgin Street Studios.
  • Direct URL: University of Houston MFA Photography and Video
  • Accessed: September 14, 2026.
  • Verification note: The official program page identifies a three-year studio-intensive MFA and assistantship-based funding. uh

Houston Community College — Photography

  • Type: Community-college photography courses and possible workforce/certificate pathways.
  • Target audience and level: Beginners, career-changers, working photographers, and degree-seeking students.
  • Content / curriculum: Digital photography, camera operation, lighting, studio photography, portraiture, Photoshop, Lightroom, commercial practice, and portfolio development.
  • Duration: Semester-based courses; credential availability varies by catalogue year.
  • Schedule / calendar: Day, evening, online, and hybrid classes may be available.
  • Price / cost: Charged per credit hour; Texas residency and district rules affect cost. Current course-specific tuition was not confirmed.
  • Prerequisites: Introductory courses generally have no prerequisites.
  • Physical address: Multiple HCC campuses; confirm the location attached to the selected course.
  • Direct URL: Houston Community College Photography
  • Accessed: September 14, 2026.

B. Public Workshops and Short Courses

Houston Center for Photography

  • Type: Nonprofit photography classes, workshops, lectures, portfolio reviews, and community programs.
  • Target audience and level: Beginner through advanced photographers, artists, students, and professionals.
  • Content / curriculum: Digital photography, film, darkroom, alternative processes, documentary practice, editing, critique, visual storytelling, and professional development.
  • Duration: Single lectures, one-day workshops, and multi-week courses.
  • Schedule / calendar: Current public calendar varies; in-person and online formats may be offered.
  • Price / cost: Course-specific; current prices require confirmation.
  • Prerequisites: Course-specific.
  • Physical address: 1441 West Alabama Street, Houston, TX 77006.
  • Direct URL: Houston Center for Photography Education
  • Accessed: September 14, 2026.

FotoFest International — Education Programs

  • Type: Workshops, lectures, portfolio reviews, and professional-development events.
  • Target audience and level: Emerging, intermediate, and professional photographers; educators and photography enthusiasts.
  • Content / curriculum: Contemporary photography, documentary practice, portfolio review, publishing, visual storytelling, curatorial practice, and professional networking.
  • Duration: Single events, weekend programs, and festival-linked intensives.
  • Schedule / calendar: Primarily tied to FotoFest’s annual and biennial programming; current dates vary.
  • Price / cost: Event-specific.
  • Prerequisites: Usually none for lectures; portfolio-review and specialist programs may require work samples.
  • Physical address: Houston venues vary by event.
  • Direct URL: FotoFest Education
  • Accessed: September 14, 2026.

Phoenix, AZ

Phoenix-area learners can choose among university art programs, community-college photography courses, and continuing-education workshops. Because many community-college offerings are term-dependent, the current class schedule should be checked before relying on a particular course.

A. Degree / Certificate Programs

Arizona State University — Photography

  • Type: Undergraduate photography study within the School of Art; verify the current credential structure.
  • Target audience and level: Undergraduate students pursuing fine-art, commercial, documentary, or interdisciplinary photographic practice.
  • Content / curriculum: Digital and analog photography, studio practice, lighting, image editing, history and theory, critique, portfolio development, and interdisciplinary art.
  • Duration: Normally four years for undergraduate study.
  • Schedule / calendar: Full-time academic program; delivery may vary by course.
  • Price / cost: Current tuition not confirmed.
  • Prerequisites: Undergraduate application; portfolio requirements depend on the selected degree.
  • Physical address: Arizona State University, Tempe campus, Tempe, AZ 85281.
  • Direct URL: ASU Photography
  • Accessed: September 14, 2026.

Mesa Community College — Photography

  • Type: Community-college photography courses and possible certificates/degrees.
  • Target audience and level: Beginners, adult learners, career-changers, and students seeking affordable credit study.
  • Content / curriculum: Digital photography, camera operation, composition, lighting, studio practice, image editing, portraiture, and portfolio work.
  • Duration: Semester-based courses.
  • Schedule / calendar: Day, evening, online, and hybrid sections vary by term.
  • Price / cost: Maricopa Community Colleges charge per credit; resident and nonresident rates differ. Current photography-course cost was not confirmed.
  • Prerequisites: Introductory courses generally have none.
  • Physical address: 1833 West Southern Avenue, Mesa, AZ 85202.
  • Direct URL: Mesa Community College Photography
  • Accessed: September 14, 2026.

Glendale Community College — Photography

  • Type: Community-college photography courses and certificate/degree study where available.
  • Target audience and level: Beginners through advanced community-college students and career-oriented learners.
  • Content / curriculum: Digital photography, Photoshop, Lightroom, studio lighting, portraiture, commercial photography, and portfolio development.
  • Duration: Semester-based.
  • Schedule / calendar: Current sections vary by term.
  • Price / cost: Per-credit tuition; residency classification affects cost. Current amounts were not confirmed.
  • Prerequisites: Course-specific.
  • Physical address: 6000 West Olive Avenue, Glendale, AZ 85302.
  • Direct URL: Glendale Community College Photography
  • Accessed: September 14, 2026.

B. Public Workshops and Short Courses

Mesa Arts Center — Photography and Visual Arts Classes

  • Type: Community arts classes and workshops.
  • Target audience and level: Adults, beginners, families, youth, and intermediate learners, depending on the course.
  • Content / curriculum: Digital photography, camera fundamentals, composition, creative image-making, and related visual arts.
  • Duration: Short multi-session courses and workshops.
  • Schedule / calendar: Evening and weekend offerings vary seasonally.
  • Price / cost: Course-specific; current photography prices were not confirmed.
  • Prerequisites: Usually none for introductory classes.
  • Physical address: One East Main Street, Mesa, AZ 85201.
  • Direct URL: Mesa Arts Center Classes
  • Accessed: September 14, 2026.

Phoenix Center for the Arts

  • Type: Community arts classes and workshops.
  • Target audience and level: Adults and youth, from beginner to intermediate.
  • Content / curriculum: Photography fundamentals, digital image-making, composition, editing, and creative visual practice where offered.
  • Duration: Short courses and workshops.
  • Schedule / calendar: Evening, daytime, and weekend programs vary.
  • Price / cost: Course-specific; current photography course pricing was not confirmed.
  • Prerequisites: Usually none for introductory workshops.
  • Physical address: 1202 North Third Street, Phoenix, AZ 85004.
  • Direct URL: Phoenix Center for the Arts Classes
  • Accessed: September 14, 2026.

Philadelphia, PA

Philadelphia supports photography education through university art schools, community colleges, museum programming, and independent workshops. The city is particularly strong in fine-art, documentary, and historically informed photographic practice.

A. Degree / Certificate Programs

University of the Arts — Photography

  • Type: Undergraduate photography degree study; current institutional status and credential structure must be verified because program availability may change.
  • Target audience and level: Undergraduate students interested in fine-art, editorial, documentary, and commercial photography.
  • Content / curriculum: Studio photography, digital and analog processes, lighting, critique, history, theory, editing, and professional practice.
  • Duration: Normally four years for a bachelor’s degree.
  • Schedule / calendar: Full-time academic study.
  • Price / cost: Not confirmed.
  • Prerequisites: Application and portfolio.
  • Physical address: 118 South 12th Street, Philadelphia, PA 19107.
  • Direct URL: University of the Arts Photography
  • Accessed: September 14, 2026.
  • Verification note: Confirm that the program is currently admitting students before relying on this listing.

Tyler School of Art and Architecture, Temple University — Photography

  • Type: Undergraduate and graduate photography study.
  • Target audience and level: Emerging artists and advanced students.
  • Content / curriculum: Photography as fine art, digital and analog production, studio work, critique, contemporary practice, theory, history, and interdisciplinary experimentation.
  • Duration: Normally four years for undergraduate study; graduate duration varies.
  • Schedule / calendar: Full-time academic study.
  • Price / cost: Current tuition not confirmed.
  • Prerequisites: Portfolio and academic application.
  • Physical address: 2001 North 13th Street, Philadelphia, PA 19122.
  • Direct URL: Temple Tyler Photography
  • Accessed: September 14, 2026.

Community College of Philadelphia — Photography

  • Type: Community-college credit courses and possible certificate or associate-level study.
  • Target audience and level: Beginners, adult learners, career-changers, and students seeking affordable credit education.
  • Content / curriculum: Camera operation, digital photography, lighting, composition, image editing, studio practice, and portfolio development.
  • Duration: Semester-based courses; credential status should be confirmed in the current catalogue.
  • Schedule / calendar: Day, evening, online, and hybrid sections vary.
  • Price / cost: Per-credit tuition; Philadelphia residency and other classifications affect cost. Current rates were not confirmed.
  • Prerequisites: Introductory courses generally have none.
  • Physical address: 1700 Spring Garden Street, Philadelphia, PA 19130.
  • Direct URL: Community College of Philadelphia Art and Design
  • Accessed: September 14, 2026.

B. Public Workshops and Short Courses

Philadelphia Photo Arts Center

  • Type: Nonprofit photography classes, workshops, lectures, youth programs, and portfolio activities.
  • Target audience and level: Beginners through advanced photographers, artists, students, and community members.
  • Content / curriculum: Digital photography, film, darkroom, alternative processes, lighting, portraiture, street photography, documentary practice, editing, and critique.
  • Duration: Single workshops and multi-week courses.
  • Schedule / calendar: In-person programming in Philadelphia; current schedule varies.
  • Price / cost: Course-specific; current tuition should be checked on the registration page.
  • Prerequisites: Usually none for introductory courses.
  • Physical address: 1050 North Hancock Street, Philadelphia, PA 19123.
  • Direct URL: Philadelphia Photo Arts Center Classes
  • Accessed: September 14, 2026.

Pennsylvania Academy of the Fine Arts — Continuing Education

  • Type: Continuing-education art courses and workshops, including photography-related offerings when scheduled.
  • Target audience and level: Adults, beginners, artists, and continuing learners.
  • Content / curriculum: Visual arts, photographic image-making, digital tools, composition, and interdisciplinary studio practice.
  • Duration: Short courses and workshops.
  • Schedule / calendar: Day, evening, and weekend options vary.
  • Price / cost: Course-specific.
  • Prerequisites: Course-specific.
  • Physical address: 118 North Broad Street, Philadelphia, PA 19102.
  • Direct URL: PAFA Continuing Education
  • Accessed: September 14, 2026.
  • Verification note: Confirm that the current term includes photography rather than only drawing, painting, or general studio classes.

San Antonio, TX

San Antonio offers university photography study, community-college coursework, and arts-center opportunities. The current availability of specialist short courses is more term-dependent than in New York, Los Angeles, or Chicago.

A. Degree / Certificate Programs

University of Texas at San Antonio — Photography

  • Type: Undergraduate photography study within the Department of Art and Art History.
  • Target audience and level: Undergraduate students pursuing studio-art and photographic practice.
  • Content / curriculum: Digital and analog photography, studio practice, lighting, composition, critique, art history, theory, and portfolio development.
  • Duration: Normally four years for a bachelor’s degree.
  • Schedule / calendar: Full-time academic study.
  • Price / cost: Current tuition not confirmed.
  • Prerequisites: Undergraduate admission; portfolio requirements depend on the selected program.
  • Physical address: One UTSA Circle, San Antonio, TX 78249.
  • Direct URL: UTSA Photography
  • Accessed: September 14, 2026.

Northwest Vista College — Photography

  • Type: Community-college photography courses and possible certificate/associate pathways.
  • Target audience and level: Beginners, adult learners, career-changers, and students preparing for transfer or creative work.
  • Content / curriculum: Digital photography, camera controls, composition, lighting, studio work, editing, and portfolio development.
  • Duration: Semester-based.
  • Schedule / calendar: Day, evening, online, and hybrid sections vary.
  • Price / cost: Alamo Colleges tuition is charged per credit and varies by residency; current photography-course costs were not confirmed.
  • Prerequisites: Introductory courses generally have none.
  • Physical address: 3535 North Ellison Drive, San Antonio, TX 78251.
  • Direct URL: Northwest Vista Photography
  • Accessed: September 14, 2026.

San Antonio College — Photography

  • Type: Community-college credit courses.
  • Target audience and level: Beginners through intermediate students and adult learners.
  • Content / curriculum: Basic photography, digital imaging, lighting, composition, studio practice, and editing.
  • Duration: Semester-based.
  • Schedule / calendar: Current sections vary.
  • Price / cost: Per-credit tuition; residency affects price. Current course cost was not confirmed.
  • Prerequisites: Course-specific.
  • Physical address: 1819 North Main Avenue, San Antonio, TX 78212.
  • Direct URL: San Antonio College Art Department
  • Accessed: September 14, 2026.

B. Public Workshops and Short Courses

Southwest School of Art / UTSA Continuing Education

  • Type: Community art classes, workshops, and continuing education.
  • Target audience and level: Adults, beginners, intermediate learners, and practicing artists.
  • Content / curriculum: Photography and related visual-arts offerings when scheduled; likely subjects include camera use, composition, digital production, and creative practice.
  • Duration: Short courses and workshops.
  • Schedule / calendar: Seasonal and course-specific.
  • Price / cost: Not confirmed.
  • Prerequisites: Course-specific.
  • Physical address: San Antonio, Texas; current teaching location should be confirmed.
  • Direct URL: UTSA School of Art
  • Accessed: September 14, 2026.
  • Verification note: The precise post-restructuring course catalogue must be checked for active photography offerings.

San Antonio Public Library — Community Arts Programming

  • Type: Public workshops and occasional photography-related events.
  • Target audience and level: General public, beginners, teens, and adults.
  • Content / curriculum: Varies by event; may include smartphone photography, visual storytelling, community documentation, and digital-literacy topics.
  • Duration: Usually single sessions or short series.
  • Schedule / calendar: Library calendar varies by branch and season.
  • Price / cost: Often free or low-cost when offered.
  • Prerequisites: Usually none.
  • Physical address: Multiple branches across San Antonio.
  • Direct URL: San Antonio Public Library Events
  • Accessed: September 14, 2026.
  • Verification note: A current photography-specific event was not confirmed during this search; use the calendar search before treating this as an active course provider.

San Diego, CA

San Diego has university and community-college photography courses, plus nonprofit and arts-center workshops. Community-college options can be especially economical for California residents.

A. Degree / Certificate Programs

San Diego City College — Photography

  • Type: Community-college photography courses and possible certificate/associate pathways.
  • Target audience and level: Beginners, intermediate students, transfer students, career-changers, and adult learners.
  • Content / curriculum: Digital photography, camera technique, composition, lighting, studio practice, image editing, film processes where offered, and portfolio development.
  • Duration: Semester-based.
  • Schedule / calendar: Day, evening, online, and hybrid sections vary.
  • Price / cost: California community-college per-unit tuition; resident and nonresident charges differ. Current photography-course tuition was not confirmed.
  • Prerequisites: Introductory classes generally have none.
  • Physical address: 1313 Park Boulevard, San Diego, CA 92101.
  • Direct URL: San Diego City College Photography
  • Accessed: September 14, 2026.

Grossmont College — Photography

  • Type: Community-college credit courses.
  • Target audience and level: Beginners through advanced community-college students.
  • Content / curriculum: Digital photography, studio lighting, portraiture, composition, Photoshop, Lightroom, and portfolio work.
  • Duration: Semester-based.
  • Schedule / calendar: Current sections vary.
  • Price / cost: California community-college tuition; current resident and nonresident rates were not confirmed.
  • Prerequisites: Course-specific.
  • Physical address: 8800 Grossmont College Drive, El Cajon, CA 92020.
  • Direct URL: Grossmont College Photography
  • Accessed: September 14, 2026.

University of San Diego — Continuing Education Photography

  • Type: Non-degree continuing-education courses when scheduled.
  • Target audience and level: Adult learners and continuing-education students.
  • Content / curriculum: Digital photography, camera controls, composition, editing, and creative image-making where offered.
  • Duration: Short courses and workshops.
  • Schedule / calendar: Term-dependent.
  • Price / cost: Course-specific; not confirmed.
  • Prerequisites: Usually none for introductory courses.
  • Physical address: 5998 Alcalá Park, San Diego, CA 92110.
  • Direct URL: USD Professional and Continuing Education
  • Accessed: September 14, 2026.
  • Verification note: Confirm that a photography course is active in the current term.

B. Public Workshops and Short Courses

Museum of Photographic Arts at the San Diego Museum of Art

  • Type: Museum education, talks, workshops, and community programs.
  • Target audience and level: General public, beginners, youth, educators, and photography enthusiasts.
  • Content / curriculum: Photography appreciation, visual literacy, image-making, contemporary photography, and occasional hands-on workshops.
  • Duration: Single events and short workshops.
  • Schedule / calendar: Current calendar varies.
  • Price / cost: Some programs may be free; other events may have course-specific fees.
  • Prerequisites: Usually none.
  • Physical address: 1649 El Prado, San Diego, CA 92101.
  • Direct URL: MOPA Education and Events
  • Accessed: September 14, 2026.

San Diego Photography Workshops

  • Type: Independent practical photography workshops and private instruction.
  • Target audience and level: Beginners through advanced photographers.
  • Content / curriculum: Camera basics, street photography, landscape, portraiture, composition, lighting, and post-production.
  • Duration: Single sessions, field outings, and private lessons.
  • Schedule / calendar: Variable.
  • Price / cost: Course-specific and not confirmed.
  • Prerequisites: Usually none.
  • Physical address: Locations vary throughout San Diego.
  • Direct URL: San Diego Photography Workshops
  • Accessed: September 14, 2026.
  • Verification note: Confirm current activity, schedule, and prices before relying on this provider.

Dallas, TX

Dallas offers university and community-college photography study, as well as museum and independent workshops focused on practical digital and professional photography.

A. Degree / Certificate Programs

University of North Texas — Photography

  • Type: Undergraduate and graduate photography study.
  • Target audience and level: Students pursuing fine-art, editorial, commercial, documentary, and research-oriented photography.
  • Content / curriculum: Digital and analog processes, studio practice, lighting, image editing, critique, photographic history, theory, and professional development.
  • Duration: Normally four years for undergraduate study; graduate duration varies.
  • Schedule / calendar: Full-time academic study.
  • Price / cost: Current tuition not confirmed.
  • Prerequisites: Portfolio and academic application.
  • Physical address: 1155 Union Circle, Denton, TX 76203.
  • Direct URL: UNT Photography
  • Accessed: September 14, 2026.

Dallas College — Photography

  • Type: Community-college credit courses and possible certificate pathways.
  • Target audience and level: Beginners, adult learners, career-changers, and students seeking affordable technical training.
  • Content / curriculum: Camera operation, digital photography, lighting, studio photography, Photoshop, Lightroom, portraiture, and portfolio development.
  • Duration: Semester-based.
  • Schedule / calendar: Day, evening, online, and hybrid sections vary.
  • Price / cost: Per-credit tuition; Dallas College residency rules affect price. Current photography-course cost was not confirmed.
  • Prerequisites: Introductory courses generally have none.
  • Physical address: Multiple Dallas College campuses.
  • Direct URL: Dallas College Photography
  • Accessed: September 14, 2026.

University of Texas at Arlington — Photography

  • Type: Undergraduate photography study within art and art-history programs.
  • Target audience and level: Undergraduate students developing studio and visual-communication practices.
  • Content / curriculum: Photography, digital imaging, lighting, studio work, critique, history, theory, and portfolio development.
  • Duration: Normally four years.
  • Schedule / calendar: Full-time academic study.
  • Price / cost: Current tuition not confirmed.
  • Prerequisites: Undergraduate application; portfolio requirements vary.
  • Physical address: 701 South Nedderman Drive, Arlington, TX 76019.
  • Direct URL: UTA Art and Art History
  • Accessed: September 14, 2026.

B. Public Workshops and Short Courses

The Photographic Society of America — Dallas-area activities

  • Type: Photography club activities, lectures, competitions, and workshops.
  • Target audience and level: Hobbyists and photographers from beginner through advanced.
  • Content / curriculum: Camera technique, composition, genre-specific photography, critique, competition preparation, and image evaluation.
  • Duration: Club meetings, lectures, and occasional workshops.
  • Schedule / calendar: Chapter-specific.
  • Price / cost: Membership and event fees vary.
  • Prerequisites: Usually none.
  • Physical address: Meeting location varies by chapter.
  • Direct URL: PSA Chapters and Clubs
  • Accessed: September 14, 2026.
  • Verification note: A Dallas-specific active chapter and current schedule should be confirmed directly.

Dallas Museum of Art — Adult and Community Programs

  • Type: Museum workshops, talks, and visual-literacy programs.
  • Target audience and level: General public, adults, families, educators, and students.
  • Content / curriculum: Photography appreciation, visual analysis, artistic practice, and occasional image-making workshops.
  • Duration: Single events and short programs.
  • Schedule / calendar: Calendar varies.
  • Price / cost: Event-specific; many public programs may be free or admission-linked.
  • Prerequisites: Usually none.
  • Physical address: 1717 North Harwood Street, Dallas, TX 75201.
  • Direct URL: Dallas Museum of Art Programs
  • Accessed: September 14, 2026.
  • Verification note: Confirm photography-specific programming in the current calendar.

San Jose, CA

San Jose’s photography education is concentrated in community-college, university, adult-education, and Silicon Valley creative-learning settings. Nearby institutions may serve the broader San Jose metropolitan area.

A. Degree / Certificate Programs

San José State University — Photography

  • Type: Undergraduate photography study within the School of Art and Design.
  • Target audience and level: Undergraduate students pursuing fine-art, commercial, documentary, and interdisciplinary photography.
  • Content / curriculum: Digital and analog photography, studio practice, lighting, image editing, critique, visual culture, photographic history, and portfolio development.
  • Duration: Normally four years for undergraduate study.
  • Schedule / calendar: Full-time academic program.
  • Price / cost: Current tuition not confirmed.
  • Prerequisites: Undergraduate application; portfolio requirements depend on the selected program.
  • Physical address: One Washington Square, San Jose, CA 95192.
  • Direct URL: SJSU Photography
  • Accessed: September 14, 2026.

De Anza College — Photography

  • Type: Community-college photography courses and possible certificate/degree pathways.
  • Target audience and level: Beginners, transfer students, adult learners, career-changers, and practicing photographers.
  • Content / curriculum: Digital photography, camera operation, lighting, studio practice, portraiture, image editing, and portfolio development.
  • Duration: Semester-based.
  • Schedule / calendar: Day, evening, online, and hybrid sections vary.
  • Price / cost: California community-college per-unit tuition; resident and nonresident charges differ. Current course-specific cost was not confirmed.
  • Prerequisites: Introductory courses generally have none.
  • Physical address: 21250 Stevens Creek Boulevard, Cupertino, CA 95014.
  • Direct URL: De Anza Photography
  • Accessed: September 14, 2026.

Foothill College — Photography

  • Type: Community-college photography courses and certificate/degree study where available.
  • Target audience and level: Beginners through advanced learners, transfer students, and career-oriented photographers.
  • Content / curriculum: Digital and film photography, lighting, composition, studio work, Photoshop, Lightroom, and portfolio preparation.
  • Duration: Semester-based.
  • Schedule / calendar: Current sections vary.
  • Price / cost: Per-unit tuition; resident and nonresident rates differ. Current prices were not confirmed.
  • Prerequisites: Course-specific.
  • Physical address: 12345 El Monte Road, Los Altos Hills, CA 94022.
  • Direct URL: Foothill Photography
  • Accessed: September 14, 2026.

B. Public Workshops and Short Courses

San Jose Public Library — Digital Media and Community Programs

  • Type: Public workshops, digital-media classes, and library programs.
  • Target audience and level: General public, beginners, teens, older adults, and community groups.
  • Content / curriculum: May include smartphone photography, digital storytelling, image editing, and media literacy.
  • Duration: Usually single sessions or short series.
  • Schedule / calendar: Branch and seasonal calendars vary.
  • Price / cost: Often free.
  • Prerequisites: Usually none.
  • Physical address: Multiple San Jose Public Library branches.
  • Direct URL: San Jose Public Library Events
  • Accessed: September 14, 2026.
  • Verification note: A current photography-specific course was not confirmed during this search; use the event-calendar search.

Santa Clara Valley Camera Club

  • Type: Photography club meetings, lectures, critiques, outings, and workshops.
  • Target audience and level: Hobbyists from beginner through advanced.
  • Content / curriculum: Camera technique, composition, landscape, portraiture, digital editing, competitions, critique, and field photography.
  • Duration: Regular meetings and occasional workshops or outings.
  • Schedule / calendar: Club calendar varies.
  • Price / cost: Membership and event fees vary.
  • Prerequisites: Usually none.
  • Physical address: Meeting locations vary in Silicon Valley.
  • Direct URL: Santa Clara Valley Camera Club
  • Accessed: September 14, 2026.
  • Verification note: Confirm the current meeting schedule and whether public visitors may attend workshops.

Important advice

  • Photography course schedules are often published only one term at a time.
  • Tuition can vary by residency, credit load, financial-aid status, equipment fees, and institutional changes.
  • Some institutions use a central catalogue rather than a photography-specific page.
  • Community-college credentials may be revised or renamed between catalogue years.
  • Museum, library, club, and nonprofit programming is often event-based and may not appear continuously.
  • Before applying or paying, confirm the current course date, meeting format, total cost, equipment requirements, cancellation policy, and prerequisite rules on the provider’s official registration page.

Leave a Comment